Skip to content

Starting Over and Getting it Right

January 7, 2010

I think I take the New Year too seriously. I believe I was stuffing one last cookie in my mouth right before 11:59pm, and, I think, somewhere in layers of consciousness, when the New Year had begun and I was working off a clean slate, I thought,  “wow, no repentance or baptism necessary, just a blow of a noise maker and a sip of Dom, and voila! Enter the new year a new person”!

Now don’t get me wrong, I like to believe in that sort of magic, but I have been so irritated with myself for not lasting more than 6 days on some of my New Years resolutions until I thought, whatever!  Beginnings and endings, even if they are short-lived, are good and is what keeps me going.  A new day, a new week or month, or even a change of hour can stimulate me into proving myself anew. 

Sometimes I think many of the problems in this world are caused by our taking life on earth too seriously.  Not that you can’t take it seriously, but think of all of us who work our butts off 15 hours a day trying to get get rich, be successful and keep a good home, oftentimes sacrificing what’s really important in the process.  I think of  politicians and people in government who take the pursuit of power and wealth so seriously that they don’t have any qualms about annililating their political opponents or stealing huge amounts of people’s money to the detriment of the masses they have sworn to serve.

So where did all this soul searching lead me to?  That we should take life less seriously and have more fun living.  When I do slip up and do the things I had promised myself that I wouldn’t do in 2010, I don’t have to wait until 2011 to try again.  Who was it who said, “In this journey called life, nobody reaches the destination alive, so we might as well enjoy the trip”?

And then I found these: 

Some humorous and funny quotes as a way of launching this decade.  

“Youth is when you’re allowed to stay up late on New Year’s Eve. Middle age is when you’re forced to.”  – Bill Vaughan

“The proper behavior all through the holiday season is to be drunk. This drunkenness culminates on New Year’s Eve, when you get so drunk you kiss the person you’re married to.”  – P. J. O’Rourke

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the New Year in.  A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.”  – Bill Vaughan

“Many people look forward to the New Year for a new start on old habits.”  – Anonymous.

“May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions!”  – Joey Adams

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

